Subject: Arrowhead Found. Need Information.

Posted on: May 07 2012 @ 12:48 PM
By: oltrapr65

Content:

I'm a newbie to the forum but have spent quite a bit of time reading all of your posts over the last 2-3 years.
Last December I moved out to the Saylorville Lake area. While moving some dirt around this last Saturday with
my son messing around while I was doing the work I hear him yell out "Wow!! Now this is a real arrowhead".
Did not think much of it till he came over and really did have an arrowhead in his hands. I have some pictures of it
I was hoping someone might be able to post and then maybe others might be able to provide some information on it.
Like how old it might be and what group of people it might of been made by and used for? Thanks.

Replies:

Re: Arrowhead Found. Need Information.

Posted on: May 07 2012 @ 07:47 PM
By: Prime_Focus

Content:

Welcome to the site! I always like to see another artifact hunter join in. Here is a link that shows you how to post pictures. It's really easy once you've done it. Basically, just upload them to a free site like Photobucket then link them to your thread here on Iowa Sportsman.
If you have trouble figuring it out, send them to me and I'll post them for you.

Re: Re: Arrowhead Found. Need Information.

Posted on: May 08 2012 @ 05:21 PM

Content:

Here are a couple of pictures of the point that James' son found. It looks like quartz to me but not sure. It looks like it's pretty worn but a lot of my quartz pieces look that way. I'm not sure what type it is. Can anyone hazard a guess?

Posted on: May 08 2012 @ 06:21 PM
By: cal

Content:

oltrapr65, Nice find! Sorry can't help on the rest.

Posted on: May 08 2012 @ 08:04 PM
By: Tomcat

Content:

Welcome to the site!

Nice find!! I'd like to hear the same answers, as I found one very, very similar a few years ago! Prime, may I also send you a pic of mine, it is made out of white quartz with some pink on one side. Remakably similar!!

Tomcat